Bassendean Primary School
Bassendean Primary School first opened as West Guildford Primary School in October 1906. In 1922 the West Guildford area was renamed Bassendean as was the school. Over the years there have been many additions to buildings - the latest a three classroom Early Childhood Education Learning Centre and a state of the art Library/Resource Centre. The buildings have been in use since Term 2 2010 will be officially opened later in the year. School numbers have been steadily increasing and numbers in the early years have increased significantly therefore the buildings granted through the Australian Government Economic Stimulus package have been well received and are a timely addition to the school. The school also boasts a state of the art Computer Laboratory and in 2010 a $45.000.00 grant saw the 'older' classrooms re-cabled to accommodate eight data points. Communication boxes were also upgraded and six working computers were installed in each classroom. This has provided reliable and consistent classroom access and greatly enhanced the ICT possibilities within the school. The old heritage style roof was re-roofed in 2010 and solar panels and water tanks were installed as part of the National Solar Program.
The school celebrated its centenary in October 2006. A major centenary project involving students, parents, staff and the Swan River Catchment Group was the transformation of the front garden. 'Waterwise' plants have been used along with a low water use irrigation system funded by an Australian Government community water grant.